Garage Kept Motors

Monday, July 13, 2015

DeutscheMarques IV

DeutscheMarques Best in Show winners, from left, Henry Riley, Porsche, Dave Monaghan, BMW, Maya Toma, Other German, Trevor Doublestein, Volkswagen and Ron Ellenbaas, Mercedes-Benz. (John A. Lacko photography)

By Bradley S. Pines / DeutscheMarques
   Please join us on July 9, 2016 for the Fifth Annual DeutscheMarques show at the Gilmore Car Museum. Be a part of history as we strive to host our largest ever event, presented by Orrin B. Hayes Mercedes-Benz, Sharpe BMW and Porsche Grand Rapids. Be sure to see the beautiful DeutscheMarques Best-of-Show marque trophy in each dealership's showroom. Every annual winner has their name engraved on the trophy.
  Last year, almost 200 gleaming German cars were on display during the Fourth Annual DeutscheMarques show at the Gilmore Car Museum. Porsche Grand Rapids, Orrin B. Hayes Mercedes-Benz of Kalamazoo, and Sharpe BMW of Grand Rapids were the exclusive marque sponsors of the all-German car event. 
   DeutscheMarques Auto Group founder Pete Hamlett said not only were five cars named Best in Show in their respective marque classes, but almost 60 awards were handed out by judges in all. 
Jim Boerighter, left, accepts
Audi Best in Show award from
Pete Hamlett, DeutscheMarques founder.
   The Grand Rapids Porsche Cup will soon be engraved with the name Henry Riley. The Avon, Indiana resident saw his Porsche 997-series Carrera 4 GTS win Porsche Best of Show. 
   Ron Ellenbaas and Bill Johnston who call themselves the “Off Brothers” of nearby Richland, Michigan, had their magnificent 1937 Mercedes-Benz 540K Cabriolet named Mercedes-Benz Best in Show and their names will be engraved upon the Orrin B. Hayes Mercedes-Benz Trophy, seen in the Kalamazoo showroom.
   Dave Monaghan, of Lake Orion, Michigan, had his classic 70s BMW 3.0 CS named BMW Best in Show and his name will soon be seen on the Sharpe BMW Cup in their Grand Rapids showroom. 
   Trevor Doublestein of Holland, Michigan, watched his 1959 VW Samba win Volkswagen Best in Show. The classic camper has only 32k miles on it.
   Jim and Trish Boerighter, of Portage, Michigan, won Audi Best in Show for their 2013 Audi S5. With only one entrant in the Other German Marque class, and that car a previous Best in Show winner, the judges awarded young Maya Toma of Indiana the trophy for her 2002 German Hudora scooter.
   Bob and Kay's Car Wash, Foreign Car Services, Munk's Motors and Spring Valley Motors also supported this year's show.
Here are the Sharpe BMW award winners:
Best in Show BMW:        Dave Monaghan, Lake Orion, MI           BMW 3.0 CS
Best of the 21st Century: Trevor Miller, Richland, MI                    2004 M3
Best of the 1990s:            Gary & Hannah Apps, Kalamazoo, MI 1991 850ci 
Best of the 1980s:            Jeff Schutter, Sparta, MI                          1985 635csi
Best BMW of the 70s:     Dave Monaghan,  Lake Orion, MI          BMW 3.0 CS
Best Classic BMW:         Ben Younce, Indianapolis, IN                  1968 2002 
Best Survivor:                 Jake Clevenger, Shelbyville, MI              1999 M3 217k
Best Daily Driver:           Jim Prihoda, Parchment, MI                    2001 525T
Cleanest Concours Car   Carl Boyland, Jackson, MI                       2001 540i
Special Judges' Award  James Essar, Portage, MI                          '01 525i 142k

Here are the Orrin B. Hayes Mercedes-Benz award winners:
Best in Show:  Ron Ellenbaas & Bill Johnston, Richland, MI   1937 540K
Best of the 21st Century: Marv Berkowitz, Portage, MI              2011 E550
Best of the 1990s:            Paul Swope, Portage, MI                      1999 E55 AMG
Best of the 1980s:            John Leese, Grand Rapids, MI            1985 380SL
Best of the 1970s:            Doug Wolford, Lansing, MI                1972 280SL
Best Classic M-B:            Ted Nugent, Holland, MI                     1969 280SL
Best Daily Driver:            Mark Sauer, Holland, MI                     1995 S350TD
Cleanest Concours Car:   Klaus Jones, Troy, MI                          1967 250 SE
Special Judges’ Award:    Rich Fosme, Auburn HIlls, MI            1960 190SL 

Here are the Grand Rapids Porsche award winners:
Best of Show Porsche: Henry Riley, Avon, IN                          997 C4 GTS
Best of 21st Century:   Darren Draves, Hickory Corners, MI GT3 RS 4.0
Best of the 1990s:        Zachary Huber, Brighton, MI              1992 968
Best of the 1980s:       Chuck & Lynn Olenyk, Rockford, MI 911 Carrera Cab
Best of the 1970s:        Bob Newill, Livonia, MI                         1976 914
Best Classic Porsche:  Rick Riley, Grand Rapids, MI               1959 356A
Best Survivor:              Mark Zavada, Kalamazoo, MI              911SC
Cleanest Concours Car:Dale&Cindy Siekman, Rockford, MI   911Targa
Special Judges’ Award: Christopher Bahlman, Dearborn, MI  Boxter

Here are the Volkswagen award winners:
Best in Show VW:        Trevor Doublestein, Holland           1959 Samba
Best of 21st Century:    Richard Demming, Grand Rapids, MI   2013 GTI
Best of the 1990s:  Jeff&Aleta Wells, Grand Rapids, MI  1996 Golf Harlequin
Best of the 1980s:  Munk’s Motor’s, Waterford Twp, MI 1986 VW Cabrio
Best of the 1970s:  Michelle&Boniface Tsugi, Delton, MI ’77 Transit Bus
Best Classic VW:   Bill Chapel, Marshall, MI                     ’68 Karman Ghia
Best Survivor:        Ted Kieffer, South Bend, IN                ’67 Mdl 265 DC
Best Daily Driver:  Eric Chapman, Kentwood, MI            2001 Golf
Cleanest Concours Car: Ken Adams, Tipton, MI               1964 DC PU
Special Judges’ Award: Kirk Leftwich, Kalamazoo, MI   ’86 Iltis Mil 4WD

Here are the Audi award winners:
Best in Show Audi:   Jim & Tish Boerighter, Portage MI 2013 S5
Best of 21st Century: Bill Oddonetto, W. Bloomfield, MI   2010 A5
Best of the 1990s:     Joel Phillips, Kzoo, MI                     1995 S6
Best Survivor:           Josh Webb, Schoolcraft, MI             1996 A4
Best Daily Driver:    Don & Sharon Herzog, Kzoo, MI  2006 S4
Cleanest Concours Car: Steve Ankney, Holland, MI       2000 TT
Special Judges’ Award: Tom Woodburn, Portage, MI   2005 A4

We will be adding lots more images very soon!