2018 Family Photo

2018 Family Photo
The people who bring DeutscheMarques to you and the people who come to DeutscheMarques!

Thursday, July 12, 2018

2018 DeutscheMarques – Best in Show Winners

Every car entered in DeutscheMarques 7 was a winner. But our esteemed panel of distinguished judges determined these six to be the best of each marque. [Click to enlarge]

Audi Kalamazoo Best in Show: Werner Gottschalk, Rochester Hills, MI – 1985 Ur Quattro

Sharpe BMW Best in Show: Chris Maliszewski, Ray, MI – 2016 328D

Orrin B. Hayes Mercedes-Benz Best in Show: Mark Sauer, Holland, MI – 1995 S350 Turbodiesel

'Other' Best in Show: Rand Thompson, Cement City, MI – 1973 Ford (Germany) Capri

Porsche Grand Rapids Best in Show: Lewis Yonce, Shelby Township, MI – 2015 911 Turbo

Maple Hill Volkswagen Best in Show: Ken & Ann Adams, Tipton, MI – 1964 Double Cab Pickup

2018 DeutscheMarques Award Winners

The Weather Gods smiled upon DeutscheMarques 7 on July 7, 2018. The day was sunny, in the low 80s with little humidity. Consequently, more German cars came out to play than ever before. Over 350 cars sparkled like jewels at the Gilmore Car Museum. Some sparkled more brightly than others.

Here is the complete list of award-worthy automobiles as determined by our large and discerning group of esteemed judges.

Audi Kalamazoo Award Winners:
Best in Show Audi:
Werner Gottschalk, Rochester Hills, MI
1985 Ur Quattro
Best of the 2010s:
Matthew Van Dyk, Kalamazoo, MI
2018 RS3
Best of the 2000s:
Stephen Ankney, Holland, MI
2000 TT Quattro
Best of the 1990s:
Joel Phillips, Kalamazoo, MI
1990 S2 Coupe Quattro
Best Daily Driver:
Todd Halstead, Battle Creek, MI
2016 SQ5
Best Survivor:
Joe Nespodzany, Mattawan, MI
1999 A6

Sharpe BMW Award Winners:
Best in Show BMW:
Chris Maliszewski, Ray, MI
2016 328D
Best of the 2010s:
Brad Miller, Rochester Hills, MI
2017 M4
Best of the 2000s:
Jeff Bennett, Midland, MI
2000 Z3
Best of the 1990s:
Joseph Thomas, Okemos, MI
1994 740i
Best of the 1980s:
Roland Porst, Westfield, IN
1988 M6
Best of the 1970s
Conrad Naegelin, Canton MI
1974 2002
Best Classic (1969 and Earlier)
Reggie Stewart, Noblesville, IN
1968 2002
Best Daily Driver:
Coleman Brook, Wyoming, MI
2017 340x1
Best Survivor:
Jay Smith, Grand Rapids, MI
1988 325is
Cleanest Concours Car:
Chris Young, Birmingham, MI
2005 330ci
Judge’s Special Award:
Oliver Taylor, Kalamazoo, MI
1987 325i

Orrin B. Hayes Mercedes-Benz Award Winners:
Best in Show Mercedes:
Mark Sauer, Holland, MI
1995 S350 Turbodiesel
Best of the 2010s:
Matthew & Mary Short, Kalamazoo, MI
2012 C63 Black Series
Best of the 2000s:
Ed & Alisa Matushek, Tinley Park, IL
2000 CLK 320
Best of the 1990s:
Steve Edelen, Battle Creek, MI
1993 300 CE
Best of the 1980s:
Jack & Mary Ryan, Vicksburg, MI
1983 380 SL
Best of the 1970s
David Ferguson, Hudsonville, MI
1978 240 D
Best Classic (1969 and Earlier)
Klaus Jones, Troy, MI
1967250 SE
Best Daily Driver:
Jonathan West, Kalamazoo, MI
2009 ML 350
Best Survivor:
James Lawson, Hudsonville, MI
1972 250 C
Cleanest Concours Car:
Jesse & Adrian Westover, Battle Creek, MI
2004 E55 AMG
Judge’s Special Award:
Suzanne Noblett
1977 240 D

'Other' Award Winners:
Best in Show ‘Other’:
Rand Thompson, Cement City, MI
1973 Ford (Germany) Capri
Best of the 2000s:
Alan Hoffman, Hamilton, MI
2007 Chrysler Crossfire
Best of the 1980s:
Robert & Belinda Bullard, Richland, MI
1989 Trabant 601s
Best of the 1970s
Nathan Couk, Vicksburg, MI
1972 Opel GT

Porsche Grand Rapids Award Winners:
Best in Show Porsche:
Lewis Yonce, Shelby Township, MI
2015 911 Turbo
Best of the 2010s:
Jeff Halvorson, Muskegon, MI
2018 GT3
Best of the 2000s:
Glenn Eisenbrandt, Grand Rapids, MI
2007 Cayman S
Best of the 1990s:
Jim Heisick, Okemos, MI
928 GT
Best of the 1980s:
David Ferguson, Hudsonville, MI
1986 911
Best of the 1970s
Craig Paull, Grand Rapids, MI
1970 914-6
Best Classic (1969 and Earlier)
Loren Boebel, Grand Rapids, MI
1964 356C Coupe
Best Daily Driver:
Kevin Pinner, Rockford, MI
1980 911sc
Cleanest Concours Car:
Robert Zick, Hickory Corners, MI
Judge’s Special Award:
Charlie Brown III, Livonia, MI
1958 356A

Maple Hill Volkswagen Award Winners:
Best in Show Volkswagen:
Ken & Ann Adams, Tipton, MI
1964 Double Cab Pickup
Best of the 2010s:
Kyle Purington, Battle Creek, MI
2014 CC
Best of the 2000s:
Chad Chenowith, Elkhart, IN
2005 Jetta GLI
Best of the 1990s:
Jeff Wells, Grand Rapids, MI
1996 Golf Harlequin
Best of the 1980s:
Mike Dontje, Shelbyville, MI
1988 Cabriolet
Best of the 1970s
Greg Sanchez, Melvindale, MI 48122
1977 Campmobile
Best Classic (1969 and Earlier)
Richard Deming Jr., Grand Rapids, MI
Sand Shark Dune Buggy
Best Daily Driver:
Erik Chapman, Holland, MI
2004 R32
Best Survivor:
Roy Carlson, Plainwell, MI
Cleanest Concours Car:
Bill Chapple, Marshall, MI
1958 Beetle Convertible
Judge’s Special Award:
Brent Walker, Huntington, IN
1967 Beetle “Cool!”

Our Facebook page is a great way to stay current with DeutscheMarques happenings. Visit https://www.facebook.com/DeutscheMarquesAG/ and "LIKE" the page! 

2018 Family Photo

Were you there? Are you here? This is our 2018 "Family Photo." This year, we asked our board members (in the blue polos) to move to the front of the group. These people have been working since 2017 to put on this great all-German show!

BMW prevails again at DM7!

Although it was neck and neck in the early part of the morning, a convoy of 26 cars from the Ann Arbor area pushed BMW once again to the top. We lost a number of cars to the Porsche Parade, which started in Missouri the day after DeutscheMarques.

Here's a comparison of the car counts for 2017 and 2018.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

BMW had the Most Cars at DM2017!

Did you wonder how many cars in your favorite marque made the show? Here's the 2017 breakdown.

DeutscheMarques 2017 in Review

Our sixth annual show set new records! Over 300 German cars from five states and thousands of visitors descended upon the Gilmore Car Museum in Hickory Corners, Michigan for the Sixth Annual DeutscheMarques car show on July 8, 2017. The weather could not have been more beautiful - mid-70s, low humidity and less than a 10% change of rain. The Garage Queens came out in force, to set a new record, making DeutscheMarques the largest German car show in the Midwest!

As always, there were some spectacular vehicles in the field. A local collector provided three stunning late 50s/ early 60s Mercedes-Benz'. But the show stopper was a 1965 Porsche 356 cabriolet once owned by Janis Joplin. This psychedelic vehicle attracted droves of people.

This year, we had two Opel's join us in the "Other" category. They are talking about increasing their numbers. If they do, we'll create an Opel category to join the Audi, BMW, Porsche, Mercedes, and Volkswagen marques.

The Best in Show winners received beautiful crystal trophies and were cheered by an appreciative crowd.

The coveted "Best in Show" crystal trophy was awarded to one car in each marque. The proud winners were:

Best in Show Audi:
Nathan Lantzy, Battle Creek, 2010 Audi S5

Best in Show BMW Presented by Exclusive Marque Sponsor Sharpe BMW: 
Jeff Schutter, Sparta, MI, 1985 635 csi

Best in Show Mercedes-Benz Presented by Exclusive Marque Sponsor Orrin B. Hayes Mercedes-Benz: 
Doug Wolford, Lansing, MI, 1972 280 SEL 4.5

Best in Show 'Other'
Bill Gephart, Kalamazoo, MI, 1971 Opel GT

Best in Show Porsche Presented by Exclusive Marque Sponsor Porsche Grand Rapids: 
Robert Yonce, Shelby Township, MI, 2015 911 Turbo S

Best in Show Volkswagen
Peter & Dorothy Dykema, Hickory Corners, MI, 1967 Type 1 Beetle